SoBe Life Water is bad for you

OK, this one is only partially accurate. Technically, SoBe Life Water is not bad for you, as far as I know. It is, however, full of bugs. Not bugs in the computer programming sense. Real bugs. Cochineals to be exact. I recently learned that SoBe Life Water, something I bought on a fairly regular basis, contains ground up cochineals. To be fair, it is only in the drinks that appear red. I discovered it in Yumberry Pomegranate. It’s only in red drinks because cochineals are used to make red food coloring.

Most red drinks use something called Red 40. I’m not sure this is actually any better for you,  but it’s not an animal product. To be fair, the bugs are most likely harmless. Some cultures eat bugs on a regular basis, after all. But if I’m going to be drinking bug juice, shouldn’t I know it first?

Sure, a lot of people will say this is a non-issue. And some people will argue it is in the ingredients and it’s not Sobe’s fault that I didn’t know what a cochineal was. But I say, when I buy a drink called Yumberry Pomegranate Life Water, I want the following ingredients: Yumberries (yeah, they’re real), Pomegranate, Water, and… Oooohhh… Life. My bad, I guess that’s exactly what you’re getting with SoBe Life Water.

Is SoBe Life Water bad for you? I’ll let you decide that. One this is for sure, though… it’s bad for cochineals.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment